Removing The Cloud

Some devices such as smartphones and tablets tend to prefer The Cloud rather than eduroam because of the ‘_’ in _The Cloud.  Systems such as Android and Apple iOS do not allow a preference order to be set.  eduroam is a far superior service for staff and students and we recommend you use it if you can.  Below are some options to overcome the preference problem.

Forget _The Cloud

Android:

1) Open Settings
2) Select Wi-Fi
3) Hold down (Long Press) on the network _The Cloud and select “Forget network

Apple iOS:

1) Open Settings
2) Select Wi-Fi
3) Click on the “i” Symbol to the right of the network _The Cloud
4) Select “Forget this network

Other Options

Android:

You can install the app Wifi Prioritizer which lets you set in what order networks are joined.

Apple iOS:

1) Open Settings
2) Select Wi-Fi
3) Click on the “i” Symbol to the right of the network _The Cloud
4) Turn “Auto Join” off
Note: This will mean that the Cloud will not automatically be joined so if you want to access The Cloud at another location you will have to go to wi-fi settings, and tap on the network to connect.

 

IPv6 ready!
54.72.197.31 at 00:23, 22 Nov 18